Posted by: clevsea | January 8, 2007

Modesty/Legalism?

This question was asked on an e-loop:

When do you think that modest dressing could possibly cross over into the bondage of legalism?

My response:

My first answer would be if the teaching were not in the New Testament. In other words if people are following men’s teachings in the place of following Biblical teachings.

My second answer would be that even when there is teaching in the New Testament and some person ADDS to it and starts to perscribe exact teachings about HOW to modestly dress that are not written in Bible. If a man were to say “let’s have the women *only* wear pink,
polka dotted, civil war era skirts with white blouses” for a weird example…then to me that would be legalistic.

I could easily write more but this will serve as my short answer.

Responses

  1. Refreshing. No modesty and legalistic modesty both sicken me. It’s good to keep things in perspective and not run away with making up our own rules. Of course we have to come up with our own guidelines so that we can make decisions day to day, but it’s not up to me to decide that “Sally” cannot possibly be behaving in modesty if she does not wear exactly this and that at this and that length of this or that material with this or that over it. Clev, this makes me think of a lady on a loop (in my past) who said she was recently deciding to wear bras with no lace for modesty. I could not think of why on earth that would matter unless she was showing her bras to men other than her husband (and I’m sure she wasn’t based on what other clothes she wore). I mean- so what if I have lace on my bra? If I do, only my husband sees it or even knows it is there. I don’t see the benefit of that rule on a woman’s overall modesty. …Well, that was off-topic, but oh well.
    Take care,
    Meg

  2. It’s like straining for gnats and swallowing a camel.

  3. Thank you Clevsea!

    This really helps me to be discerning with respect to modesty. If we don’t stand on God’s Word, then what else will discern our views? Will we base our hope and trust in God’s holy and inerrant Word, or on what is right in our own eyes?

    There is a way that seems right to a man,
    But its end is the way of death.
    Proverbs 16:25

    May Jesus’love brighten your day!
    Micah

  4. Thank you Micah.


Leave a Reply

Categories

