Posted by: clevsea | June 17, 2008

Headcovering is not cultural

Headcovering is cultural, right? Such a frequent question & somebody just asked it last night. She is new to covering and also wanted to know what to say to her church, her family and her workplace. Here’s my answer:

I think the 3 reasons given in the passage itself are
NOT Cultural.

First the Order of Headship:

“the head of every man is Christ, the head of woman is man, and the
head of Christ is God.”

The Order of Creation:

“For a man indeed ought not to cover his head, since he is the image
and glory of God; but woman is the glory of man. For man is not from
woman, but woman from man. Nor was man created for the woman, but
woman for the man.”

The Angels:
“because of the angels.”

As far as telling others, your church, your family, your co-workers I
would wait for the questions to come. Pray that you’ll be discerning
as to whether they want to *hear* you or not. Some people are not
teachable and they ask questions but they don’t intend to listen.

I’ve covered for 18 years and I have not had very many questions.
When I have had them I try to figure out if the asker really wants to
know. If they do I read I Cor 11 with them right then…keep a Bible
with you.

If they don’t want to really know (or learn) then a quick answer
like, “I’ve found this teaching to cover in the NEW Testament and I
want to obey it.”

About 99% of people in my very LIBERAL city have NO idea that this is
in the Bible and the first assumption is always that I’m legalistic.

It is not legalistic to follow New Testament teachings if simple
obedience is the goal. We don’t cover to be saved from our sins, we
cover to obey. We don’t cover because it is a man-made teaching from
outside the Bible, we cover to obey.

Pray about it and be prepared for some underwhelming reactions. If
anybody is going to give you a really bad time it may be your family
but to all people shower them in kindness and smiles.

Leave a Reply

Categories

