Posted by: clevsea | August 30, 2008

Pants or Dresses

Are women supposed to wear dresses only?

I think for a lot of modestly dressed women they just kind of “wake up” one day and see that either their jeans are as revealing as wearing a leotard would be

OR……..

they see that their Levi’s & Sweatshirt are boyish and looks just like the outfit their husband has on.

Or maybe they see both.

I keep saying this but I think the main point is having a panel of fabric obscuring the bottom area is a good way to acheive modesty.

That panel of fabric can be a skirt, dress, jumper OR it could be super long shirt (which is a dress, if long enough) and this panel of fabric can be worn over pants, bloomers, a second skirt, underpants…all kinds of divided leg garments.

The more immodest look is to have form fitting pants and a short shirt.

Plain and simple.

As to the “pertaineth to a man” a Scripture from Deut 22:5 I think that is simple to understand too. It says there:

“A woman shall not wear anything that pertains to a man, nor shall a man put on a woman’s garment, for all who do so are an abomination to the LORD your God. “

Don’t cross dress. Don’t wear apparel that is solely man’s apparel. When we get to clothing that *both genders* wear then it gets confusing but IF YOUR OUTFIT would look totally normal on YOUR HUSBAND then you may be crossing that line between the genders.

Ending on this….sometimes a dress is more immodest. Some skirts/dresses are too short or too sheer OR are bound to blow up over head while climbing the ladder to the roof.

It’s not just “pants” or “skirts” it is looking in the mirror and seeing what you are “saying” with your clothes.

I could look very s*xy and say to you, “Hey, I’m wearing a dress. Sure it’s short and tight but it’s a dress.”

I look in the mirror and ask myself if I look like a women professing godliness. I’ve quoted that often but I’ll quote it again because that verse is my best barometer. “Pertaineth to a man” helps me too but as we look at several opinions we find that verse is more subjective.

Here is the I Tim 2:9-10 verse that helps me the most:

“…the women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with propriety and moderation, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or costly clothing, but, which is proper for women professing godliness, with good works.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

