Posted by: clevsea | February 26, 2009

I am of Christ

Following men and aligning with groups

I arrived at my theologies through constant and diligent study and reading of the Bible over a 26 year time span. I don’t write that to toot my own horn, I’m just stating a couple of facts (humbly) before I go on to say this.

This is I Cor 1:10-13

“Now I plead with you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment. For it has been declared to me concerning you, my brethren, by those of Chloe´s household, that there are contentions among you. Now I say this, that each of you says, “I am of Paul,” or “I am of Apollos,” or “I am of Cephas,” or “I am of Christ.” Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? ” NKJV

I have been attracted to the above passage for a long time now. Why? Because it so clearly states our nature, our seemingly constant “urge” to be aligned with a group or a man.

Guess which group I would have claimed to be in from the above choices? Christ’s. I would have been one of those saying I am of Christ.

I tend to agree with a lot of John Calvin’s conclusions but not because I read them and began to agree with them. No, it was quite different for me than that situation. I read the Bible a lot, often, and studied it deeply and years later I found out that John Calvin and I had much agreement.

However, I hesitate to align myself with any man’s name.

I have known Gothardites in real life. That is only an “example” of what I’m attempting to convey here. The fact that I can use the word Gothardite and most Christians will know what I mean by that is a small “proof” that people don’t seem to mind being called by another human person’s name.

There are other examples. Lutherans, after Luther. Franciscans, after St. Francis.

All of this reminds me of another Biblical verse found in Isaiah 2:22.

I’m at the point in my life where I see that my theologies, my doctrines are what would be called “Reformed” and that throws me into this new world of groups and blogs, and books.

I’ve not read a lot of the current Christian books, to be honest. But I have to say that all of these people and groups and doctrinal separations *can* become a distraction from knowing the Lord God and His Holy Word, the Bible.

These divisions are overwhelming.

I felt like this once a long time ago. I had a cheap, little radio in my kitchen and I would listen to Radio sermons from the Christian station while I cleaned and cooked. Each pastor or teacher had a half-hour “show.” With each half-hour came different positions and slants and interpretations. After about 3 years I just had to walk away from the radio preachers. These were “good” names, solid men, learned and steeped in the Bible….but so much disagreement among them.

Lordship doctrine vs Grace doctrine. Pre-wrath Rapture vs Post Tribulation Second Coming of Christ. Tithe, don’t tithe. Spank, don’t spank. Homeschool, don’t homeschool. Recognize ALL Spiritual gifts, limit the gifts. Follow Levitical dietary laws, serve ham at Easter. The list is longer than your arm and I’m certain we all know this.

So, my point and/or question is this. Does anybody else ever just get overloaded by man’s opinions? Does anybody else ever decide to just run from all Christian labels?

More simply, does anyone understand what I am trying to communicate?

Thank you all and may the Lord God Bless you in your homes, in your families, in your worship of Him.

Responses

  1. Very good post!! And I DO Understand what you are trying to communicate!!
    Good to hear from you again on here!! 🙂 You stayed away a long time! Hope you are doing well.

  2. Thanks. I’m doing great. I have trouble accessing my own blog…it always wants to load to a very old entry and won’t allow me to view the recent ones.

    Thanks for commenting. May the Lord bless you, Clevsea


Leave a Reply

Categories

