Posted by: clevsea | April 22, 2009

Self Control through the Holy Spirit

Self control is one of the fruits of the Holy Spirit, as we all know.

I used to be alarmed at Galatians 5 when I would see more of myself in the “Deeds of the Flesh” list than I could see of myself in the “Fruit of the Spirit” list.

I learned that I could not do this in my flesh…the more I tried the more I failed.

I learned that I needed to pray for the Lord to “give” me the Fruit of His Holy Spirit.

I ask for this daily.

It reminds me of the verse in James that we are allowed to ask for wisdom and that prayer will be answered.

I ask daily for this and He answers me on this. When I don’t pray about it I am very “fleshly” that day until I do pray. I act like an angry woman, like a selfish woman, very concerned about *my* needs, problems and wants.

After I ask for the Fruit of the Spirit then I act a lot better and have the love, joy, peace, kindness, patience, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, SELF CONTROL.

It is super-natural, so to speak. It is not of my flesh at all.

The Bible goes on to say in that passage, “And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.”

I couldn’t figure out how to walk in the Spirit. I would read Paul’s words, “Walk by the Spirit and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit and the Spirit against the flesh, and these are contrary to one another, so that YOU DO NOT DO THE THINGS THAT YOU WISH. But if you are led by the Spirit then you are not under the law.”

Then the passage goes on to list the deeds or the works of the flesh…

adultery
fornication
uncleanness
lewdness
idolatry
sorcery
hatred
contentions
jealousies
wrath
selfishness
dissensions
heresies
envy
murders
drunkenness
revelries

and Paul says that “those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

Some of these horrible attributes still pop up in me because I’m still living in the flesh body. But these pop up like one single pimple on a face, rather than lifestyle of living this way would be more like a full-blown case of horrible acne spread across the entire face and torso.

That is how I look at your question and this is the only solution that I found—prayer. Simply asking God, in Jesus Christ’s name to help me to have the Holy Spirit, being able to walk in the Holy Spirit, have the Fruit of the Holy Spirit, have the companionship and counseling of the Holy Spirit.

This also reminds me of abiding in the vine as we read about in John 15. Abiding (living) in the vine and allowing the Lord to sustain us, nurture us, even prune us when needed so that we are thriving in His ways.

This is what I have done…thank you for reading,
Clevsea

Responses

  1. GREAT Post, Clevsea!! It’s good to see you post again! šŸ™‚

    I am thankful for the Holy Spirit too!

  2. Thank you.

    The Lord Bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

