Posted by: clevsea | April 28, 2009

Does God know exactly when you are going to die?

There isn’t one concise verse that just plainly says that the Lord has set one certain day for our death — at least not a verse that I can locate within a reasonable time frame.

But….

There is the whole entire Bible where the Lord God is prophesying very precisely. He tells Abraham that he will have a baby and what his name will be and it happens. The Lord predicted the 400 years of bondage in Egypt to Abraham when He first revealed Himself to him, yet it was not going to occur for a very long time.

God prophesied about Cyrus in Isaiah chpt 44 giving exact details that were fulfilled 150 years later. God tells them in the same chapter that Jerusalem’s ruins will be raised again…but it had not even been destroyed yet. In Isaiah chpt 45 more prophesy is given about Cyrus who still will not be born for another 150 years.

God goes on to say, ” I am the Lord and there is no other; besides Me there is no God. I will gird you though you have not known Me; that men may know from the rising to the setting of the sun that there is no one besides Me. I am the LORD, and there is no other, the One forming the light and creating darkness, causing well-being and creating calamity; I am the LORD who does all these.” Is 45:5-7

He created all things. He knows all things. All of His prophesy comes to pass. All prophesy about the 1st coming of Christ came true. We can trust Him. He is all powerful.

He harden Pharaoh’s heart so that he did not let the captives (Israel) go free until all the plagues had occurred and all the firstborn of Egypt were dead.

When it comes to the death of His people we have this to read:

14 I will pay my vows to the LORD
Now in the presence of all His people.

15 Precious in the sight of the LORD
Is the death of His saints.

16 O LORD, truly I am Your servant;
I am Your servant, the son of Your maidservant;
You have loosed my bonds.

Ps 116:14-16

Precious is the DEATH of His saints??????? Yes.

In the New Testament we are told that we are more precious than the sparrows and the hairs of our head our numbered.

IS 25:7-9 says:

7 And He will destroy on this mountain
The surface of the covering cast over all people,
And the veil that is spread over all nations.
8 He will swallow up death forever,
And the Lord GOD will wipe away tears from all faces;
The rebuke of His people
He will take away from all the earth;
For the LORD has spoken.
9 And it will be said in that day:

“ Behold, this is our God;
We have waited for Him, and He will save us.
This is the LORD;
We have waited for Him;
We will be glad and rejoice in His salvation.”

God will swallow up death forever!!!!!!!

I could keep bringing Scriptures but I’ll end with this. God was knitting you together in your mother’s womb–you were not an accident—you are His creation. He knows all about you and He has had this knowledge of you for a very long time. He knew you were chosen for salvation, He preordained all of that for you.

It’s a sovereignty issue, I at least that is my understanding of the Bible. Just like God was not surprised by your conception and birth He is not surprised by your death.

As to asking to be kept alive longer—the Lord granted 15 years to Hezekiah’s life span.

Here is II Kings 20

1 In those days Hezekiah was sick and near death. And Isaiah the prophet, the son of Amoz, went to him and said to him, “Thus says the LORD: ‘Set your house in order, for you shall die, and not live.’”
2 Then he turned his face toward the wall, and prayed to the LORD, saying, 3 “Remember now, O LORD, I pray, how I have walked before You in truth and with a loyal heart, and have done what was good in Your sight.” And Hezekiah wept bitterly.
4 And it happened, before Isaiah had gone out into the middle court, that the word of the LORD came to him, saying, 5 “Return and tell Hezekiah the leader of My people, ‘Thus says the LORD, the God of David your father: “I have heard your prayer, I have seen your tears; surely I will heal you. On the third day you shall go up to the house of the LORD. 6 And I will add to your days fifteen years. I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria; and I will defend this city for My own sake, and for the sake of My servant David.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

