Posted by: clevsea | March 15, 2011

Common Headcovering Question

 

Question: What should I do if my husband does not want me to cover my head and yet I feel that I am supposed to as taught in the Bible?

Such a common question for the new covering woman. After studying, praying and coming under the conviction to cover she finds out her husband disapproves to a big extent. In fact he even asks her not to cover. Many times this is a non-believer in Christ Jesus and someone who doesn’t know the Bible or will not obey the Bible.

Recently this question was asked on a Yahoo group. In this case the husband said he wanted to see his wife’s hair and not to have it covered.

I have answered this at other times but these are today’s answers to this question.

Here is my input………….

A few ideas:

#1) Cover secretly when you pray at home. No one needs to know what is on your head during your private prayer time.

#2) Wear a beret with your hair down. That is how I cover. Details below.

#3) Collect some hoodies. They come in shirts and in sweat shirts. You can use the hood as a covering when needed.

#4) If he works in the day time you can probably wear whatever you want to while he is away and then go bare-headed when he’s home.

As to the theology of what to do I lean this way: When and if I have to choose between obeying my husband and obeying the Lord God concerning any clear teaching found in the Bible then I choose God over my husband. Some say, “Hey, that’s not submission to your husband.”

Yes, I’m aware of that. But that very teaching comes from the Bible, doesn’t it? The Bible is the source of the teaching on wifely submission.

With some things it’s easy to know when to choose the Bible over the husband who does not believe in the Bible. There are many, many things you would not do just because he told you to.

I do teach others to follow their husbands. I obey mine. It’s Biblical. However, on this topic I would cover regardless of what my husband said if he was trying to get me not to. But I would be nice. I would not flaunt it. I would try to find a covering that he could stand.

I wear a “sur la tete Beret 11 1/2 inch diameter beret” available for $13.95 at the Villiage Hat Shop which is a large on-line store. They don’t wear out and come in many colors. It’s not my only covering but it is my main covering. When covering I don’t put my hair up. This is an option for women who have disapproving husbands.

Lastly, there are some husbands who object to head covering and/or modesty, it happens. But SOME of these men change their minds and approve of it in short time.

You’ll start to look normal with some kind of covering on and look “funny” when you’re not covered.

You are going to find that at least 50% of covering women will think differently than what I just shared. At least half think that covering is wrapped up in submission and ought to not be done if the husband says “no.” That’s okay that they don’t agree with me. I’m not asserting myself as a “know-it-all” I am only sharing what I do and what I think.

Responses

  1. I also wear a beret. I have been surprised but my husband does not object. He may appreciate the sweeter attitude that has come along with it.

  2. They are easy to wear and to adapt to various outfits.

    They don’t seem to scare anyone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

